Munkebjerg Hotel Reviews 

277
•
TrustScore 2.5 out of 5

2.7

While we don't verify specific claims because reviewers' opinions are their own, we may label reviews as "Verified" when we can confirm a business interaction took place. Read more

To protect platform integrity, every review on our platform—verified or not—is screened by our 24/7 automated software. This technology is designed to identify and remove content that breaches our guidelines, including reviews that are not based on a genuine experience. We recognise we may not catch everything, and you can flag anything you think we may have missed. Read more

Company details

  1. Conference and Meeting Room Service

Information provided by various external sources

Munkebjerg Hotel et af Danmarks bedste 4-stjernet hoteller samt et 5-stjernet møde, kursus- og konferencecenter med en kapacitet fra 2 til 700 deltagere.


Contact info

2.7

Poor

TrustScore 2.5 out of 5

277 reviews

5-star
4-star
3-star
2-star
1-star

No recent history of asking for reviews

This company hasn't invited customers recently, so reviews may not be representative

Replied to 92% of negative reviews

Typically replies within 24 hours

How this company uses Trustpilot

See how their reviews and ratings are sourced, scored, and moderated.

2.7

All reviews

(277)

25 reviews in the last 12 months

Write a review

We perform checks on reviews

Companies on Trustpilot aren't allowed to offer incentives or pay to hide reviews. Reviews are the opinions of individual users and not of Trustpilot. Read more

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

A work stay that turned into cold rooms, no internet and a very disappointing spa

I booked a 2.5-day work stay expecting a quiet place to work combined with the possibility to relax. Unfortunately, it turned out to be the opposite.

The room temperature was only 17°C – in the middle of winter. The staff were understanding, but they could not find the cause of the problem and were unfortunately unable to provide any additional heating. I ended up sitting in my coat with a duvet wrapped around me just to stay somewhat warm.

The internet also did not work and only started functioning after a full day – which is highly problematic when you are staying there to work.

The spa area was a major disappointment. The sauna was the size of a broom closet, making it impossible to lie down. The jacuzzi contained so much chlorine that it caused intense itching on the skin. The spa itself is located in a basement with no sense of atmosphere, a strong smell of chlorine, and nothing like the relaxing environment presented in the hotel’s photos.

For the cold room and the lack of internet, I received a compensation of 300 DKK, which feels quite inadequate after spending several days literally freezing.

The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately, that does not change the reality of a freezing room, no internet, and a spa experience far below expectations.

For me, the stay was a huge disappointment, and I will definitely not be booking here again. If you are looking for a good spa hotel, I would recommend choosing somewhere else.

Respond to the answer:
I am surprised that you have no record of the fact that I contacted the reception twice regarding the internet. The first time, they kindly assured me that they would deal with it immediately. The next day it was still not working, and it was only after I contacted the reception again that it started working a few hours later.
I am also very surprised that you believe a refund of 300 DKK is sufficient for a 2.5-day stay in what essentially felt like a freezer, with internet that only worked half of the time.
The only thing that saved me was that I had brought my own large down duvet, which I had to sit wrapped in while wearing hats, gloves and several sweaters. Even so, I still ended up catching a fairly bad cold.
Had I received a proper refund that matched the kindness of your staff, I probably would not have written this. As it stands, I am left with the impression that you run a hotel with a beautiful exterior and friendly staff, but underneath it all it seems to be mainly about money — which leaves a rather false impression.

18 January 2026
Unprompted review
Munkebjerg Hotel logo

Reply from Munkebjerg Hotel

Dear Sofie,

Thank you again for taking the time to respond and share further details about your experience. We are genuinely sorry to hear that you left with this impression, as it is never our intention for any guest to feel unheard or dissatisfied.
Regarding the internet issue, we are sorry that your experience does not match the information we have recorded internally. We do not in any way doubt your description, and we sincerely apologize if follow-up from our side was slower than expected. Reliable internet is important, especially during a work stay, and we understand that this was frustrating for you.
Concerning the temperature in the room, we fully recognize how uncomfortable it must have been for you. We regret deeply that the situation could not be resolved to your satisfaction during your stay. As mentioned previously, our normal procedure is always to offer an alternative room when we are unable to immediately correct a heating issue, and we are sorry if this option was not made clear to you.
We also understand your dissatisfaction regarding the compensation. The amount was assessed based on the information available to us at the time, and we must kindly maintain our position that we cannot offer further reimbursement. This does not diminish the fact that we are truly sorry your stay did not meet expectations.
Finally, we would like to reassure you that guest care is at the heart of what we do. Both the beauty of the surroundings and the kindness of our staff are important values to us, but so is transparency. This is also why we make a special effort to communicate that our wellness facilities are not a spa, but a small complimentary wellness area available to our overnight guests.
Even though we cannot change the outcome of your stay, we want to emphasize that we are always open for direct dialogue, and we would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally. You are very welcome to contact me directly at the hotel, rather than through the portal, should you wish to discuss your experience further.
Warm regards,
Charlotte Glistrup Petersen
Guest Service Manager
Munkebjerg Hotel

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

We had a wonderful stay at Munkebjerg…

We had a wonderful stay at Munkebjerg Hotel! Beautiful interior design, great food and very helpful and friendly personnel! Also the kids-room was a nice extra to have, while we were still eating and enjoying the meal.
Beautiful surrounding with beautiful flowers and benches to sit and enjoy the nature.
Can very much recommend this hotel!

29 July 2025
Unprompted review
Munkebjerg Hotel logo

Reply from Munkebjerg Hotel

Dear Sandra,
Thank you so much for your kind words!
We’re truly happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Munkebjerg Hotel. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed the atmosphere, the food, and the service. We're especially glad the kids' room added to your experience.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Best regards Charlotte Petersen Guest Service Manager

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Best week of our summer

The staff, very helpful and welcoming. It is like stepping into a luxury 70s hotel with fantastic Danish Designer furniture, bar, restaurant, casino, views, kids- and adult friendly. The place is big. Great golf course nearby.

28 July 2025
Unprompted review
Munkebjerg Hotel logo

Reply from Munkebjerg Hotel

Dear Anders,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback!
We’re thrilled to hear that your stay with us was the highlight of your summer. It’s wonderful that you appreciated the unique design, welcoming atmosphere, and all the amenities we offer for both kids and adults.
We’re also glad you enjoyed the nearby golf course and the overall experience at Munkebjerg Hotel.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards Charlotte Petersen Guest Service Manager

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic hotel 5 stars for sure!

Fantastic hotel, everything gets a 5 star from us! Reception is smiling, easy and helpful!
The fresh clean rooms, with robes and slippers and the wellness center's jacuzzi, pool, sauna are all relaxing!
The food is over the top, all the waiters are so friendly and the wine list has all you desire! Afternoon cake and coffee, and then there is 5 o'clock wine!
I believe the dog treats were also homemade, our dog loved them! The entire area surrounding the hotel is full of exciting paths and our dog was content after an exciting walk to wait in luxury while we visited the casino! We love Munkebjerg Hotel and their friendly staff even the cleaning ladies make you feel at home and we are already looking forward to another visit!

7 April 2024
Unprompted review
Munkebjerg Hotel logo

Reply from Munkebjerg Hotel

Dear Donna,
Thank you very much for your great review, we really appreciate it.
Best regards Charlotte Petersen Front Office Manager

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

the best hotel i have ever been this…

the best hotel i have ever been this year! amazing services team

1 March 2023
Unprompted review
Munkebjerg Hotel logo

Reply from Munkebjerg Hotel

Dear Linda,
Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate it.
Best regards Munkebjerg Hotel Charlotte Petesen Front Office Manager

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Alt pænt og rent

Alt pænt og rent. God service

25 January 2023
Unprompted review
Munkebjerg Hotel logo

Reply from Munkebjerg Hotel

Kære Kirsten Risum,
Tak for din anmeldelse, det sætter vi stor pris på.
De bedste hilsner Charlotte Petersen Receptionschef

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Tremendous noice, party and smoking

My daughter and I stayed at Munkebjerg hotel the night before a for us big national dressage competition. next to our room there was held a party in two room including, drinking smoking pot. There was a tremendous amount of noice. The reception neglected the party and did't move us before 05.00. We left the hotel at 6.30 and will probably never return.

26 February 2022
Unprompted review
Munkebjerg Hotel logo

Reply from Munkebjerg Hotel

Dear Stine Øvlisen,
Thanks for your review. We have already had a dialogue via phone and email back in February.
It is always unfortunate when our guests and employees have different perceptions of what has happened.
Sincerely.
Munkebjerg Hotel

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Hair and dust in the drinks

My husband and I have recently purchased Søndagsophold and stayed there for the night.
The spa area was good enough, however, the bar experience was surprising, as for 4 start hotel. My husband ordered a glass of 18 years old Highland Park, and there was some dust inside (potentially from a washing machine or so) and a hair. I have ordered a glass of wine, which also had some dust inside...

8 November 2017
Unprompted review
Show reviews in all languages. (277 reviews)

The Trustpilot Experience

Anyone can write a Trustpilot review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they’ll be displayed as long as an account is active.

We use dedicated people and clever technology to safeguard our platform. Find out how we combat fake reviews.

Learn about Trustpilot’s review process.

Here are 8 tips for writing great reviews.

Verification can help ensure real people are writing the reviews you read on Trustpilot.

Offering incentives for reviews or asking for them selectively can bias the TrustScore, which goes against our guidelines.

Take a closer look